G DATA Managed XDR

Role Management

Roles define the set of permissions users need to perform their assigned tasks. Roles reflect how responsibilities are organized in your company.

We recommend using the predefined roles Admin and Read-Only.

If needed, you can create custom roles for each category and assign them to users.

During the Kick-off, our G DATA Security Operations Team advises you on designing a suitable role structure.

The overview shows the available categories. The categories displayed depend on the products assigned to your Organization Unit. When you subscribe to additional products, the corresponding categories are added automatically.

Categories

Overview

G DATA Managed XDR role management

Role management shows the permission assignments for the generic roles Admin and Read Only. These roles cannot be removed. If needed, custom roles can be created for each category using Create a role. The window for assigning permissions to the new role opens.

To change the permissions of a custom role, click in the corresponding row on the edit icon Edit roles.

To delete a role, click the delete icon in the corresponding row G DATA Managed XDR delete roles.

A role can only be deleted when it is no longer assigned to any users. During deletion, a new role can be assigned to the affected users.

G DATA Managed XDR create a user

Core Functions

Core Functions

Core functions support general operation of the web portal and provide capabilities for User Management, User Roles, and Organization. The available permissions are listed below by category.

User Management
User management

View Users

Allows viewing users.

Create Users

Allows creating new users.

Edit Users

Allows editing existing users.

Delete Users

Allows deleting existing users.

Assign a Role

Allows assigning a role to a user.

Two-Factor Authentication

Permission to enable or disable two-factor authentication for a user.

User Roles
User roles

View Roles

Allows viewing roles.

Create Roles

Allows creating new roles.

Edit Roles

Allows editing existing roles.

Delete Roles

Allows deleting existing roles.

Organization
Organization

View Organization Units

Permission to view Organization Units.

Create Organization Units

Allows viewing Organization Units.

Edit Organization Units

Allows editing existing Organization Units.

Delete Organization Units

Allows deleting existing Organization Units.

Enable Device Control

Allows enabling Device Control.

Enable Endpoint Notifications

Allows assigning Endpoint notifications.

MXDR Functions

G DATA Managed XDR

MXDR Functions
MXDR functions

View and Edit

Specifies whether users with this role can view and/or edit Endpoints.

Agent Settings

Removing an Endpoint from the portal requires permission to uninstall Agents from Endpoints. When starting the Agent uninstallation, you can choose whether to remove the Endpoint record from the portal at the same time. Users authorized to uninstall Agents can also remove the Endpoint record from the G DATA Web Portal later.

Uninstalling the Agent prevents monitoring of the selected Endpoint. Malware will no longer be blocked automatically, and our G DATA Security Analysts will no longer be able to provide incident-response services on the Endpoint.

Pause Agent

Specify whether users with this role can pause the Agent on Endpoints for 15 minutes.

Please note that scans continue to run. Detections are logged during this time, but ongoing work on the Endpoint is not interrupted. This function must not be used to improve performance.

Enable Tray Icon

Specify whether users with this role can display the Agent icon in the Windows notification area on Endpoints.

Incidents & Recommended Actions

View Incidents & Recommended Actions

Specify whether users with this role can view Incidents and Recommended Actions.

Mark Recommended Actions as Complete

Specify whether users with this role can mark Recommended Actions as complete. This option is available only if the role has permission to view Recommended Actions.

View Logs

Specify whether users with this role can access the Logs view.

Notifications

View Notifications

Switch that controls whether users with this role receive notifications.

Edit & Delete Emergency Contacts

Specify whether users with this role can add users to and remove users from the emergency contact list.

This permission necessarily includes permission to view all users!

Edit & Delete Email Notifications

Specify whether users with this role can add users to and remove users from the email notification recipient list. You can also set the email language and the types of notification events.

This permission necessarily includes permission to view all users!

Device Management

Device Management
Device management

If you use G DATA Policy Control, you can specify here which changes users with this role can make in the product.

Device Activity Logging

Specifies whether users with this role can view device activity logs.

View Exclusions

Allows viewing Exclusions.

Edit and Delete Exclusions

Allows editing and deleting Exclusions.

Global Access Rules

Specifies whether users with this role can view and/or edit global access rules and edit the notifications displayed on Endpoints.

Email Protection

Email Protection
Email protection

If you use G DATA Mail Protection, you can specify here whether the product is displayed in the G DATA Web Portal for users with this role.

Mobile Device Management

Mobile Device Management
Mobile device management

If you use G DATA Mobile Device Management, you can specify here whether the product is displayed in the G DATA Web Portal for users with this role.